Home » Nutrition for the body and soul. » I’m not from Hollywood.

I’m not from Hollywood.

We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing.’

Everything had run too smooothly with my husband being away. Yesterday he started teaching at the Arrabona Bible college, Indonesia for three days. As I was praying for him, I thought to myself: ‘I better watch out now!’  A little intro will help you understand why I felt that way.

A few years ago, some of the teachers thought that they want to prepare just pastors & missionaries, and not what the seminary was geared at the time,  to produce skilled young people with a trade & theological knowledge. Indonesia is heavily oppressed by Muslim believers who without mercy persecute Christians. It is not as easy to send a missionary out, without any knowledge or skill, to share the gospel.  As a rule, an intense persecution often produces spiritual growth and even national revival, there are many native Christians there who are willing to serve the Lord in spite of the great  danger for them. One of teacher had a vision to start just a theological college. That’s where my husband is teaching at the moment.

The pressure started to build up on Monday which I haven’t realized  at the time. A gentleman, whom I had invited to the church a few months ago, greeted me at the supermarket. We had a friendly chat & after that he went for a cigarette.  I carried on  with my shopping. Half an hour later we met at the check out again. I inquired why he has not come to the church yet. I don’t know what exactly happened, but ‘a friendly man’ was gone. He could of out-shined any actor, being hardly the same man. This transformation was rather intense: the tone of his voice became deeper & his face twisted as he shouted back to me: ‘I would talk about mathematics or philosophy. Who wants to talk about Jesus? How come so many intelligent people don’t believe in God? Of course you don’t know about my credentials. How dare you to invite me to your church. Again. Yes, I can come & give a talk there myself. ect…’  Steadily his language became very offensive, rude & full of swearing. I had to turn away,almost giggling at such ‘ full of intelligence behavior’  after first saying ‘sorry’ for bringing that topic up,which he was pleased about. ‘So you should be.’

On Tuesday someone offered to look after the children, so I could be at the prayer meeting. I thought it was a great idea even though at such hour, lulled by the prayers, I could settled down for the night. The prayer meeting turned out to be amazing. The emphasis was on Acts 2: ‘ And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place.’  

The very same thoughts were on my mind, so I meant to be there.

On Thursday, the pressure that was building up in the spiritual realm, reached its crescendo. I was laughing so much while putting my laundry out, I thought it deserves an entry in my blog. This is what had happened.

I asked my oldest son to remind me about putting out the rubbish. He said he would. After all the commotion of going to bed (it was a gorgeous sunny day at last, so all our bedding & mattresses were airing outside) having drinks, snacks, prayers, stories, the ‘the very last’ piece of fruit, trying out homemade toothpaste, no wonder we forgot about the rubbish bins.

First thing in the morning, (we sleep with thick curtains) I hear a familiar noise. ‘Oh, no! We haven’t put the rubbish out!’ I imagine how full to the brim my two rubbish bins are, and I jump out straight away.  I look and I see rubbish collectors moving faster than any other professionals you ever asked help from. I run downstairs in my pajamas ( in my son’s tracksuits bottoms  that he wished to give away to be exact that were a bit too short) with my hair styled not ‘one direction’, but  ‘every direction’.   ‘Quick, what do I do?’ – I’m thinking fast which of course slows me down considerably. I’m determined to do something though. No matter  the cost of my popularity/sanity on our street! I hop on my jacket, that doesn’t hide my ‘new pj’, just gives a bit more decent appearance. I’m on the street just in time  to wave rubbish track good-bye.

I can’t give up.  ‘ Russians don’t give up – cause Stalingrad is behind.’ slogan kept playing in my head. Not really.  I could not even think straight. My mind stays in a blank mode. I needed my brain more than ever & it doesn’t even function properly: do I run after the rubbish track in my pj & every direction hair or do I stay put? I envision maggots crawling all over my rubbish in this gloriously sunny weather. I  stop myself. I wake up at last : ‘ I’m not from Hollywood. Why would I act like one?!’

Go back inside of the house. Turn my  ESV Bible on & I pray. Soon the children are up. We have  breakfast. While they are making their pack lunch I better take the laundry out. I open the door & it seemed as Noah’s flood  gushing out. Someone  had played with the buttons!!! Aahhh …

After the emergency is over, we proceed  towards the ‘exit- school-direction’ at last. Daniel was looking for his  new school shoes that his dad bought him, right before he left high & low, but they could not be found. Since I cleared the house from junk so well, everything is displayed well.  Still nothing surfaced. He had to wear his brother’s spare one’s.

After all the pressure of the morning is gone, a deep fresh breath of oxygen in the garden would be nice. The lake looks peaceful in spite of the breeze. I glance down & see a pair of shoes floating by. Who said Christians don’t  have problems? As a man from the supermarket quizzed me ‘where was God when this & that happened’, I say ‘right there  in the midst as it it explained in the Scriptures. The shoes could be in the middle of the Pacific, floating during the night, as much as I know, but they were still floating, as almost waiting to be picked up.

‘ Then King Nebuchadnezzar was astonished and rose up in haste. He declared to his counselors, “Did we not cast three men bound into the fire?” They answered and said to the king, “True, O king.”  He answered and said, “But I see four men unbound, walking in the midst of the fire, and they are not hurt; and the appearance of the fourth is like a son of the gods.”

As long as the maggots don’t invade our souls, I think we will be all right.

     Don’t forget to Enjoy your day!

One thought on “I’m not from Hollywood.

  1. Pingback: I’m not from Hollywood. | angelanowakforgod

Leave a Reply

